Certain Sketchfab features (such as setting models to private or applying custom backgrounds) require an active subscription tier. If you downgrade your plan or use features not supported by your current membership level, affected models are automatically disabled until account settings or plan requirements are met.
What are disabled models?
When a model is disabled, it cannot be viewed on the model page and it cannot be embedded on other websites. It will not appear in the newsfeed, search, or on your profile when viewed by other people. As the owner, you can always view and edit your own models, but others will not be able to view them. They will not be deleted.
Exceptions: Certain models will not be disabled due to membership changes. They include:
Staff picks
Public downloadable models
Why are my models disabled?
1. Disabled due to model features
You can find the reason for each disabled model on your account by visiting the model page itself. Models are automatically disabled if you downgrade and models are using features from a higher plan.
For example:
Private models require Pro or above.
Custom backgrounds require Pro or above.
Models with an Uploaded size above 100MB require Pro, and models with an upload size above 200MB require Premium, etc.
You can review each membership plan's features on our Plans page.
2. Disabled due to moderation by Sketchfab staff
Your models may also be disabled by staff for various reasons:
There is an on-going DMCA takedown or abuse investigation.
Violation of Sketchfab's terms of use or community guidelines.
How do I reactivate disabled models?
There are three ways to reactivate a disabled model:
Re-upgrade to an appropriate plan
Make the model public and downloadable
Remove the model features that exceed your plan (for example, a custom background)
In the case of models that exceed the file size limit for your plan, you can re-upload a smaller version of the file. Don't forget that we support uploading compressed ZIP, RAR, and 7zip archives, which can save a lot of space.
