Reuploading will replace the old model with a new upload, but maintain the same URL, likes, settings, etc.
How to reupload a model
To reupload a model, first click the Edit Properties button on your model page.
There, you'll find the Reupload button under the model preview.
If processing fails, we will revert to the previous version. If processing succeeds, you will be prompted to compare the two versions and confirm the result.
Reuploading a model does not use a view-only upload credit.
What's preserved during re-upload?
Model URL / embed URL
Model metadata (title, description, categories, tags, download license)
Views, likes, and comments
Scene settings (orientation*, camera, FOV, Rendering mode, Shading, post-processing filters)
Material settings**
*Be sure to check your camera position and annotations after reupload - we assume a consistent model orientation and scale.
**Material definitions are compared (based on name) before and after reupload. If the material name is the same, we keep edits that have been made in 3D Settings. Materials are updated per channel, i.e. uploading a new Diffuse color will not change any other settings for that material. We keep old textures if the new upload does not include new versions. We replace textures if the new version has a texture with the same name. SSS / Translucency and Displacement settings are always preserved because no format currently supports those channels in our processing pipeline.
Using reupload to duplicate settings
It's not currently possible to copy material or scene setting presets from one model to another. However, using model duplication and reupload can achieve the same result.
Create a placeholder model, and apply all the settings you want such as lights, background, etc.
Reupload a new model, and everything will be preserved as described above.
