Skip to main content

Reuploading a Model

Comments

54 comments

  • tausend

    I wonder why reuploading a model removes all the previous textures?

    1
  • James

    @tausend - getting material settings that you changed after uploading to persist on reupload would be tricky, because the model is completely reprocessed.

    However, textures should be automatically applied if they are linked correctly and included in the upload. You're using FBX?

    0
  • arifcreations

    my UV2 ( second uv channel ) is gone after reupload :. tried so many times, still cant get UV2 re appear. despite the original fbx have it.

    0
  • James

    @arifcreations - Can you please send me a sample FBX file so we can take a closer look? support@sketchfab.com

    Thanks!

    0
  • arifcreations

    @james, it worked now. , more like FBX problem than sketchfab.
    now I know how to test it in 3dsmax, before submitting it ( the UV2 map i applied reverted to uv 1 :( ) , so I have to merge it to new polycube, to reset its vertex order. very tricky. but it works.

    0
  • James

    @arifcreations - Cool, thanks for letting me know!

    0
  • pauldaviesart

    when i try to reupload my edited model, it uploads but when it gets to 100% it says i don't have permission to reupload my own model.

    ...ummm...help?

    0
  • James

    Yep, we have a fix coming soon. Sorry about that!

    0
  • degit22

    After re-upload, the origin point is straying.
    If upload the new model is still good, but I want to the old address.

    0
  • James

    @degit22 - If you double-click the background it will reset the origin point. Then you can just Save View.

    0
  • degit22

    @James Thank you.

    0
  • stickypig

    I re-uploaded my model today and it got rid of all of my textures. I had to re-apply 30 textures. So frustrating. Nothing changed about the model's uv map, texture names, or uv names. The re-upload feature doesn't seem to serve any purpose if it's the same as just uploading a new model anyway. Can anyone help? Thanks!

    1
  • James

    @stickypig - Looks like you used the built-in Substance publisher originally (it uses Collada/.dae) format, and manually re-uploaded an FBX?

    Our re-upload material matching is based on material names. We took a look and we think there may be an issue because the format changed - we're investigating and I'll get back to you!

    0
  • James

    @stickypig - Ok, so here's the issue: 

    You first uploaded the Substance model with all textures. Then, you uploaded a "naked" updated geometry. So when we compare, we compare a material having a texture with a one having only colors.

    We're looking into a fix that would keep the textures in this situation.

    0
  • dustin.tinkler

    Is there a way to re upload via the painter export?

    0
  • James

    @dustin.tinkler - Not at the moment, but this is something I want to push for in every exporter in the future.

    0
  • dtinkler

    I figured out a workaround. Just export a test model from painter. That will create a model.zip file that can then be re-uploaded via sketchfab.

    0
  • danielcane

    Hi,

    I used the Solidworks uploader plug-in to upload the original. Is there a preferred file format for re-upload please?

    0
  • James

    @danielcane the SolidWorks plug-in uses DWF.

    0
  • danielcane

    Hi James,

    The only option I can see is 'Publish to Sketchfab'

    Can the plug-in save / export to DWF so I can then re-upload in the web browser via Sketchfab > Settings > Re-upload?

    0
  • James

    Hmm, I thought SolidWorks could natively Save As DWF? If not, you could Publish to Sketchfab as a new upload, download it from Sketchfab, delete it, and re-upload over the old one? Sorry that's a bit tedious, but I don't have a better solution right now.

    0
  • danielcane

    No apologies, that's a brilliant idea!! Thanks a lot!!

    0
  • maritimearchaeologytrust

    @james

    Hi James,

    We have been reprocessing a lot of our models with some new software which has brought lots of improvements. I can upload these as new models without issues, but we'd like to preserve our views and likes on them. Unfortunately re-upload seems to be failing but doesn't appear to give error messages. Any advice appreciated.

     

    0
  • James

    @maritimearchaeologytrust - If processing the new version fails for some reason, we should fall back to the previous version. Is this what you're seeing?

    0
  • maritimearchaeologytrust

    @james Yes, processing completes but then model version is unchanged. I'm not seeing an error, just no new model.

    0
  • James

    @maritimearchaeologytrust - Thanks. can you give me an example model URL so we can check the logs?

    1
  • 0
  • James

    @maritimearchaeologytrust - Perfect, thanks! That's very strange as the new versions you uploaded are clearly processable. We're investigating! We are also working on giving better feedback during re-uploads, in case the new version fails.

    0
  • maritimearchaeologytrust

    @james OK, will await your update when you've got to the bottom of it. Thanks for the lightning responses!

    0
  • aplus

    Hi James.

    I have some problem with re-uploading.

    It is posible to preserve transparency value and which material is set as single sided? (I'm using FBX 2016 with 3ds max). And I't could be perfect for me if it will preserve ambiet oclusion map (which I have to load separatly).

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.