Skip to main content

Reuploading a Model

Comments

54 comments

  • James

    Hi,

    It's not an exact science, but we try to preserve any settings you've made in the editor if your new version does not over override them. Do you have a specific example where this is not working so we can take a closer look?

    0
  • julian-tate

    Is it possible to do a reupload when using the 3DS Max Sketchfab Exporter/ Plugin? Everytime I've used it so far you have to create a new model.

    1
  • James

    @julzdesigns - Not at the moment, but we would very much like to implement that feature in our plugins in the future. For now, you could manually export and re-upload the model, or use the plug-in, download the new version from Sketchfab, and re-upload it over the original.

    1
  • SubmarineChannel

    My audio has disappeared after re-uploading. Shouldn't that be preserved as well?

    0
  • James

    @SubmarineChannel Sorry about that! We're working on a fix.

    0
  • jlottrenderinghouse

    Hello! I was wondering why after I optimized my textures for my model, after reuploading to the same scene the model information does not update? Specifically the size and poly count? 

    0
  • James

    Hi there! Hmm that sounds weird, can you share the model link so we can take a look?

    0
  • James

    I reproduced the model size problem (we'll ge that fixed), but my poly count was updated correctly :\

    0
  • jlottrenderinghouse

    @james 
    After clearing the cache and reuploading for an additional time, I was able to have the poly count updated again! Though looking forward when you get the model size problem fixed. Thanks for your input!

    0
  • James

    @jlottrenderinghouse Cool, thanks for letting me know!

    0
  • filibis

    Hi @james , is there any progress about the re-upload feature via plugins (Blender for example)? (Same question asked by @julzdesigns a year ago)

    0
  • James

    Hi @filibis - At the moment, I think Substance Painter is the only software to implement re-upload in the exporter/plugin.

    1
  • edwin.wallet

    Is "staffpick" preserved when you re-upload?

    0
  • James

    @edwin.wallet Yes it is. I just updated the list in this article, thanks!

    0
  • Theon

    I almost always have to re-apply most, if not all of my textures and material settings when I re-upload. This very frustrating. I have like 9 materials which I've spent hours adjusting, and then I find a tiny weight painting error, and if I fix that error and reupload everything without any additional changes, it all breaks and I have to start over with the materials from scratch. Is it supposed to be this way, or am I doing something wrong?
    Also, is it possible to only re-upload the mesh, and not all the unchanged textures? I've tried before, but all my textures were simply removed if I didn't include them in the second upload.

    Thank you for your time

    0
  • James

    @Theon

    All your material/texture settings should be preserved between uploading, even if you only re-upload the mesh, as long as your material names don't change.

    Can you send me the latest model URL where this happened?

    0
  • Theon

    Hi, James,

    Thanks for the quick reply!

    It's been a long time since I tried re-uploading only the mesh, so I'm not sure which one that was. As for materials resetting when I re-upload everything (including the textures), that happens almost every time. I can't remember last time I uploaded a model that I didn't have to redo the materials for, because I always end up having to re-upload it.

    Last this happened was with this one:

    https://skfb.ly/6NWGM

    Even the post processing and light settings disappeared at one point.

    0
  • James

    Thanks Theon! We're taking a look.

    0
  • Noss

    Hi James,

    Does re-uploading also updates the downloadable files ? I've got trouble updating models for the store, the original downloadable file stays the same (https://skfb.ly/6QSSU). Thanks

    0
  • James

    Hi Noss,

    Yes the downloadable files will also update, but it can take a few minutes for the new archives to be available. There is a small issue where in some cases we keep the same ZIP file name as the previous version, but the contents should definitely be the latest version. Are you still seeing the wrong file(s) there?

    0
  • Noss

    Thanks for your answer. I wasn't aware of the latency, the files seems to have been updated but there is an issue. The new .zip file is nested in the downloadable .zip file where it seems to have replaced the old .blend file.

    The downloadable .zip files contains this:
    /source
        old_blendfilename.zip
    /textures
        old_texture-file.png

    The nested .zip file when unpacked contains this:
    new_blend-filename.blend
    /textures
        new_texture-file.png

    So the new file matching the one i uploaded is there, but nested inside the old package file.

    0
  • James

    Yep, that was the issue I mentioned - we update the contents but keep the old file name. I hope we can get that fixed, but as long as the content is correctly the latest version, it should be ok for now?

    0
  • Noss

    Ok yes, thank you. I will mention it in the comments of the model for now so that the buyers are not lost.

    0
  • James

    Thanks for your understanding, hopefully we can get that fixed in the future!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.