Skip to main content

Is paid membership required to upload one large file?

Upload file size requirements by membership tier, single-file upgrade rules, and model status after downgrading

Written by Elaine

In order to unlock specific limitations, features, or tools for your 3D models, you may need to upgrade your Sketchfab membership.

While our free Basic membership offers plenty, some users need more than others to display their work. You can review a quick comparison chart for all Sketchfab membership plans from the Plans page.

Even if you'd like to upload only a single large file, you would need to upgrade your Sketchfab membership, depending on the model's size. For example, if you are using the free Basic membership and you'd like to upload a single 250MB model, you will need to upgrade to Premium membership (which offers uploads up to 500MB).

We do not offer the ability to purchase individual features of select plans.

If you're not ready to upgrade to a higher Sketchfab membership, you could always try editing and re-uploading your model with a smaller size or less features.

What happens if I downgrade in the future?

In order to use select membership features, you need to remain on that particular membership plan.

If you decide to upgrade to a different plan, you can use all the features and tools available for that plan. However, if you downgrade to a different plan, some of your models may be disabled.

What Happens When a Model Is Disabled

  • What Happens:

    • Cannot be viewed on the model page or anywhere by the public or other members.

    • Cannot be embedded on external websites.

    • Hidden from search results, newsfeeds, and your public profile.

  • What Doesn't Happen:

    • Not deleted: Your model remains safely stored in your account.

    • Not hidden from you: As the owner, you retain full access to view and edit your model at any time.

Did this answer your question?